National Park Info

The first national park in Georgia, named Saguramo National park, was established in 1973, on the basis of which Tbilisi National Park was created in 1979 (and then later abolished).

National park is generally created in order to protect relatively large, natural ecosystems of exceptional beauty that are of national and international importance and to conserve the existing biodiversity. In addition, national park plays an important role in the development of eco-tourism, particularly in the promotion of natural and cultural heritage of Georgia at the international level.

In 1995, the first national park that complies with international standards was established and it was named Borjomi-Kharagauli National Park. Kolkheti NP was established in 1998, Tusheti and Vashlovani in 2003 and Mtirala in 2006. During last few years Javakheti and Machakhela National Parks were established, whereas Algeti, Saguramo and Kazbegi Strict Nature Reserves were awarded the status of national parks. In the coming years, it is planned to expand Kazbegi and Algei National Parks, as well as to create the National Park of Glaciers on the Central Caucasus Mountain Range and Pshav-Khevsureti Protected Areas in Mtskheta Mtianeti Region.  

Currently Georgia has 10 National Parks with a total area of 349327,1 ha. These are: AYAMJP